Cheryl Angst, Writer

Writer of strange tales – because no one ever accused me of being normal.

Book Signing October 26, 2009

I had the pleasure of attending a book signing at a local Writers’ Conference on the weekend. I was unable to attend the conference itself, for which I am eternally bitter as from all accounts it was fabulous, but I was able to make time to meet a few authors on Saturday evening.

It was a fabulous experience! I clutched my books, waited in line, and tried very hard not to go all ‘rabid fan-girl’ on some of my favourite writers. The longest line was for Diana Gabaldon, but there were several other very popular authors. I felt privileged to meet Ms. Gabaldon, Jack Whyte, Terry Brooks, Anne Perry, and C.C. Humphreys, and they were only a small percentage of authors at the conference!

I am kicking myself for not learning about the conference early enough to be able to attend, but now that I know it happens every year, you can be guaranteed I will be there next year! Look out Surrey International Writers’ Conference – I’m attending in 2010, even if I have to camp outside to register!

If you’re reading this and you have attended a previous conference, please post a comment sharing your experiences and recommendations. I want to make the most of the experience, and feedback from others will go a long way in helping me prepare. Only 363 days to go until next year!

From beyond the keyboard,

Cheryl.

cherylangst@gmail.com

 

2 Responses to “Book Signing”

  1. Camille Says:

    Hi Cheryl,
    as one of the Conference Planning Board members I am so glad to hear you had fun at the book fair. I am happy to answer any questions you might have about the conference, as well. We begin planning for next year pretty much right away. You can get regular updates about the conference and sign up for our newsletter or follow our blog. All the info is at http://www.siwc.ca . Let me know if you have any questions-we look forward to seeing you next year!
    Camille

  2. cherylangst Says:

    Hi Camille,

    Thank you for posting several ways I can keep tabs on what is happening at SIWC for 2010! You can rest assured I will be following any and all updates, and I will be registering as soon as registration opens!

    Cheryl.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers